Archive for February 9th, 2010

C’mon Son

I just want to say first off that “C’mon Son” is Ed Lover’s catch phrase, I’m just using it because it’s hilarious. So please don’t sue me for copyright infringement Ed.

This story is about college athletes who waste college scholarships while playing sports but don’t do anything while at the school. But let me back up for a second. I originally got on this topic because I saw a story about 53 underclassmen going to the NFL. That made me think hmmmm….all of those guys think it’s not important to get a degree? Then that got me thinking about super freshman John Wall, who will most likely go to the NBA after this season. That got me thinking about Derrick Rose, and Michael Beasley and all the other freshman who skipped out on getting a degree to go to pro.

Now I’m not knocking these guys for taking a multi-million dollar check because I would do the same thing. I mean C’mon Son these players aren’t staying in college if they have Nike and Gatorade knocking on their doors. What bothers me is that most of these guys are taking money away from other students. Basketball players have the option of going overseas to play basketball and most of these high-profile High School basketball players can easily garner interest m European teams. Instead they come to colleges and often take the minimum amount of credits necessary to be a full-time student and sometimes don’t even do the work they need  to do to pass but still get a grade because of their prestige.

Brandon Jennings who now plays for the Milwaukee Bucks skipped out on college and went to Europe and now he’s a strong candidate for NBA rookie of the year. So it is possible to be successful after playing overseas.

So to all the players who are taking money away from students who actually want an education but can’t afford one…C’mon Son! You know you don’t care about school. I think David Stern should make it mandatory that you have to stay for two years before you go to the NBA draft, so these players actually have to get some sort of education. Not only would it make the athletes better but it would produce a better and more consistent product in the NCAA and NBA.